About us

After several years of exchange and various projects related to the problems of data literacy and data protection issues, Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen and Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen, together with her networks, decided to launch a broad appeal to politicians to urgently create a solid foundation for the sustainable implementation and financing of a social data literacy culture. This appeal covers the following areas:

  1. Involvement of the media in this cultural change concerning data literacy;

  2. Integration of data literacy lessons to education and training with adequate programmes from kindergarten level on;

  3. Creation of decentrally networked data literacy centers for quality assurance purposes.

 

These three pillars are fundamental to the sustainable and social development of high-quality data literacy in this digital age. This calls for existing national and international resources and competences to be included as much as possible. The interprofessional approach should be deepened and extended.

The appeal for an urgent national data literacy campaign was launched inter-professionally with and thanks to the support of the KKA/CCM. The KKA supports the project financially and logistically. We would like to thank them very much for this support. In the meantime, many other organisations and individuals from different areas of expertise and the general public have joined our appeal.

In a second step, cooperation projects in the field of data literacy are developed with interested partners. Similar initiatives for greater data literacy are also being encouraged, followed and networked internationally.  "Data literacy - Switzerland" wants to become a platform that enables interested partners and individuals to easily inform, exchange and network about ongoing data literacy projects at a national and international level, and to make these projects and developments visible to the population at the same time.


Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen​
Co-Initiator
''Data literacy - Switzerland''

The statistician Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen, CStat PStat, founded Statoo Consulting in 2001 and regularly consults on applying statistical engineering and thinking to big data analytics and artificial intelligence for businesses and government bodies in Switzerland and across Europe at the operational, tactical and strategic levels.

Currently, he is also the Principal Scientific and Strategic Data Innovation and Data Science Advisor for the Directorate and the Board of Management of the “Swiss Federal Statistical Office” (FSO) in Neuchâtel, Switzerland, and Co-Author of FSO's Data Innovation Strategy and supports the FSO in its operational, tactical and strategic implementation and further development.

In addition, he is since 2016 Professor of Data Science at the “Geneva School of Economics and Management” (GSEM) at the University of Geneva, Switzerland, and Founding Director of GSEM's new “Master of Science in Business Analytics” programme.

In the past, he was also President of the “Swiss Statistical Society” (2009-2015).

Links: About.meTwitter, LinkedIn.  

Selection of publications/articles:

Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen
Co-Initiator
''Data literacy - Switzerland''

Specialist for general internal medicine, dedicated to social matters and health policies.

  • Spec. Manual Medicine (SAMM) 

  • Executive MBA with focus on healthcare

  • Certified expert SIM (Swiss Insurance Medicine)

  • Co-President KKA (Conference of Cantonal Medical Societies) since 2018

  • President of the Valais Medical Society since 2013

  • Former board member at the Spital Wallis and foundation board member of the Central Institute of Valais Hospitals (ICH) (2012-2015) 

  • Vice-President of the Sanakvo foundation since 2011

Selection of publications/articles:

Über uns

Nach mehrjährigem Austausch und verschiedenen Projekten mit Bezug auf die Problematik der Datenkompetenz- und Datenschutzproblematik entschlossen sich Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen und Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen, gemeinsam mit ihren Netzwerken einen breiten Appell an die Politik zu lancieren, um dringend eine solide Grundlage für die nachhaltige Implementierung und Finanzierung einer gesellschaftlichen Datenkompetenzkultur zu legen. Diese Forderung umfasst die folgenden Bereiche:

  1. Einbindung der Medien in diesen Datenkompetenz-Kulturwandel,

  2. Einbindung der Datenkompetenzvermittlung in die Aus- und Weiterbildung mit adäquaten Programmen bereits ab Kindergartenebene,

  3. Schaffen von dezentral vernetzten Kompetenzzentren zu Qualitätssicherungszwecken.

Diese drei Pfeiler sind grundlegend für eine nachhaltige und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung einer qualitativ hochstehenden Datenkompetenz im digitalen Zeitalter. Es wird gefordert, dass bestehende nationale und internationale Ressourcen und Kompetenzen möglichst mit einbezogen werden. Der interprofessionnelle Ansatz sollte vertieft und ausgebaut werden.

Der Appell für eine dringliche nationale Datenkompetenz-Kampagne wurde mit und Dank der Unterstützung der KKA/CCM interprofessionnell lanciert. Die KKA unterstützt das Projekt finanziell und logistisch. Wir bedanken uns herzlich für diese Unterstützung. Zwischenzeitlich haben sich viele weitere Organisationen und Einzelpersonen aus verschiedenen Fachbereichen und aus der Bevölkerung unserem Appell angeschlossen.

 

In einem zweiten Schritt werden Zusammenarbeitsprojekte im Bereich Datenkompetenz mit interessierten Partnern ausgearbeitet. Ebenfalls werden ähnliche Initiativen für mehr Datenkompetenz international angeregt, mitverfolgt und vernetzt.  "Data literacy - Schweiz" möchte zu einer Plattform werden, die es interessierten Partnern und Personen ermöglicht, sich über laufende Datenkompetenz-Projekte auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene einfach informieren, austauschen und vernetzen zu können und diese Projekte und Entwicklungen ebenfalls für die Bevölkerung sichtbar werden zu lassen.


Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen​
Co-Initiant
''Data literacy - Schweiz''

Der Statistiker Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen (CStat PStat) ist Inhaber vom Schweizer Beratungsunternehmen Statoo Consulting, welches er 2001 gründete. Er berät regelmässig namhafte Schweizer und internationale Unternehmen und Behörden operationell, taktisch und strategisch bezüglich der Anwendung des statistischen Ingenieur-wesens und Denkens auf die Analyse von Massendaten («Big Data Analytics») und auf künstliche Intelligenz.


Seit 2016 ist er auch der «Principal Scientific and Strategic Data Innovation and Data Science Advisor and Consultant» für die Direktion und die Geschäftsleitung des Schweizer Bundesamts für Statistik (BFS) in Neuenburg, Schweiz. In diesem Rahmen ist er Koautor der Daten-innovationsstrategie des BFS und begleitet das BFS bei deren operationellen, taktischen und strategischen Umsetzung und Weiter-entwicklung.


Darüber hinaus ist er seit 2016 Professor für Datenwissenschaft («Data Science») an der «Geneva School of Economics and Management» (GSEM) der Universität Genf, und seit 2017 Gründungs-direktor des neuen Programms «Master of Science in Business Analy-tics» der GSEM. Von 2009 bis 2015 war er ebenfalls Präsident der «Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Statistik» (SSS).

Links: About.meTwitter, LinkedIn.  

Auswahl Publikationen/ Texte:

 

Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen
Co-Initiantin
''Data literacy - Schweiz''

Vielseitig gesellschaftlich und in der Gesundheitspolitik engagierte Fachärztin für Allgemeine Innere Medizin.

 

  •  spez. Manuelle Medizin (SAMM) 

  • executive MBA focus Healthcare

  • Zertifizierte Gutachterin SIM (Swiss Insurance Medicine)

  • Co-Präsidentin KKA (Konferenz der kantonalen Ärztegesellschaften) seit 2018

  • Präsidentin Walliser Ärztegesellschaft seit 2013

  • ehemalige Verwaltungsrätin Spital Wallis und Stiftungsrätin Zentralinstitut der Walliser Spitäler (ICH)  (2012-2015)

  • Vizepräsidentin Stiftung Sanakvo seit 2011

Auswahl Publikationen/ Texte:

© 2020 Dr. med. Monique Lehky Hagen, Prof. Dr. ès sc. Diego Kuonen. 
info@data-literacy.ch

Finanziert durch die KKA/CCM. 
Konferenz der Kantonalen Ärztegesellschaften, St. Martinsplatz 8, Postfach 619, 7001 Chur
Telefon 081 257 01 73, info@kka-ccm.ch, www.kka-ccm.ch

Impressum